2011 Purple Row Hall of Fame Voting Results

The results are in for the 2011 Purple Row Hall of Fame voting and four candidates received enough votes to break the 75% threshold needed for entry in some of baseball’s most hallowed ground. As it turns out, our community was slightly less frugal with our votes than the Baseball Writers of America as we not only elected more players, but also kept a couple extra on the ballot. Only 13 ballots were cast so these results are a little fluky but nonetheless, they, as well as the actual results of the Hall of Fame voting are below for you to compare.

Note: (Green means the player received enough votes to be elected into the Hall of Fame and red means the player did not receive enough votes to remain on the ballot next season.)

Purple Row Hall of Fame Voting Actual Hall of Fame Voting
Roberto Alomar 92% Roberto Alomar 90%
Bert Blyleven 92% Bert Blylevin  80%
Barry Larkin 85% Barry Larkin 62%
Tim Raines 77% Jack Morris 54%
Larry Walker 69% Lee Smith 45%
Jeff Bagwell 54% Jeff Bagwell 42%
Edgar Martinez 54% Tim Raines  38%
Alan Trammell 38% Edgar Martinez 33%
Fred McGriff 23% Alan Trammell 24%
John Olerud 23% Larry Walker 20%
Kevin Brown 15% Mark McGwire 20%
Mark McGwire 15% Fred McGriff 18%
Jack Morris 15% Dave Parker 15%
Dale Murphy 15% Don Mattingly 14%
Rafael Palmeiro 15% Dale Murphy 13%
Carlos Baerga 8% Rafael Palmeiro 11%
John Franco 8% Juan Gonzalez 5%
Don Mattingly 8% Harold Baines  4.80%
Benito Santiago 8% John Franco 4.60%
Harold Baines  0% Kevin Brown 2.10%
Bret Boone 0% Tino Martinez 1.00%
Juan Gonzalez 0% Al Leiter 0.70%
Marquis Grissom 0% John Olerud 0.70%
Lenny Harris  0% Marquis Grissom 0.70%
Bobby Higginson 0% BJ Surhoff 0.30%
Charles Johnson 0% Bret Boone 0.20%
Al Leiter 0% Benito Santiago  0.20%
Tino Martinez 0% Raul Mondesi 0.00%
Raul Mondesi 0% Carlos Baerga 0.00%
Dave Parker 0% Bobby Higinson 0.00%
Kirk Rueter 0% Kirk Rueter  0.00%
Lee Smith 0% Charles Johnson 0.00%
B.J. Surhoff  0% Lenny Harris 0.00%


Just a few things I noticed.  (Feel free to add others in the comment section)

1) Despite Lee Smith getting 45% of the vote in the actual voting, he did not appear on a single Purple Row ballot.

2) Both Larry Walker and Tim Raines received much more support in the Purple Row voting than the actual Hall of Fame voting.  (Walker shouldn't be a huge surprise here as this is a Rockies site after all.)

3) Rafael Palmeiro didn't get much love from either the Baseball Writers Association of America or our community but did get enough votes to remain on each ballot next year.

Finally, I just want to add a thanks to all those who participated.

Eat. Drink. Be Merry. But the above FanPost does not necessarily reflect the attitudes, opinions, or views of Purple Row's staff (unless, of course, it's written by the staff [and even then, it still might not]).

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Purple Row

You must be a member of Purple Row to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Purple Row. You should read them.

Join Purple Row

You must be a member of Purple Row to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Purple Row. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.