clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tuesday Morning Rockpile:

Contract negotiations with Torrealba have advanced to the stage where a deal might be close, but Paul Lo Duca and Michael Barrett are still in the equation. Same story line for the past few weeks.

Mandy Coolbaugh will receive $233,505.18, a full playoff share. Not much more can be said about the Rockies voting for this. This article has a list of everyone who received a full share.

The 2008 Hall of Fame ballot was released yesterday. What a bunch of uninspiring candidates. I still think Bert Blyleven should be in, but it's not going to happen. Maybe it'll be Rich Gossage's year after having been the closest candidate last year not to be elected. And Mark McGwire will still tell us that he's not here to discuss the past. Tim Raines, David Justice, and Chuck Knoblauch are the headliners for first-year candidates. Hopefully the Veterans Committee will vote someone in from the Executive/Manager/Umpire section.

Washington Redskins safety Sean Taylor dead at 24 after being shot at home.