clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 SBN Hall of Fame Results Announced

Back in December SB Nation Baseball writers submitted their ballots for a mock Hall of Fame election. With the actual MLB announcement only a couple of days away, it is time for SBN Baseball to make their announcement. Fifty-two ballots were submitted, making 39 votes the threshold to make the Hall of Fame. Only one player reached that number and with plenty of votes to spare. This pitcher finished 27th all-time in wins with 287 and 5th all-time in strikeouts with 3,701. He threw 242 complete games and 60 shutouts. He finished in the top 10 for AL Cy Young four times and made two All-Star games. He is also the most famous Dutch-born baseball player. SBN Hall of Fame voters selected Bert Blyleven as their first inductee for their virtual Cooperstown.



Here's how the voting went:

Player % Vote Total Votes
Bert Blyleven 92.3% 48
Roberto Alomar 73.1% 38
Barry Larkin 63.5% 33
Tim Raines 53.8% 28
Mark McGwire 51.9% 27
Edgar Martinez 48.1% 25
Alan Trammell 40.4% 21
Andre Dawson 32.7% 17
Lee Smith 26.9% 14
Fred McGriff 25.0% 13
Dale Murphy 17.3% 9
Jack Morris 13.5% 7
Don Mattingly 11.5% 6
Harold Baines 7.7% 4
Dave Parker 3.8% 2
Kevin Appier 3.8% 2
Ellis Burks 1.9% 1
Ray Lankford 1.9% 1
Shane Reynolds 1.9% 1
Not receiving votes: Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, David Segui, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile

You can view everyone's ballot here, including mine (the only one from Purple Row).