clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 NL Gold Glove Winners Announced: Rockies' Gonzalez, Tulowitzki Earn Honors

It's about time!

I had to do a double-take when I saw the article, but it looks like...yes, Jimmy Rollins is NOT penciled in as the National League's Gold Glove winner at shortstop. Instead, Colorado shortstop Troy Tulowitzki finally won his first Gold Glove, and he has some company on the team in fellow young superstar Carlos Gonzalez, who was named as one of the three NL outfielders to take home the award.

It has been a long time coming for Tulowitzki, who has been regarded by most people with a brain as the NL's best shortstop since his first full season in 2007. He placed near the top of the league at his position in UZR and Baseball Reference's Total Zone Runs Above Average. Meanwhile, Gonzalez's selection comes as a bit of a surprise, as he posted a negative overall UZR (-2.7), despite being well above average in left field. Either way, it's nice to see some of our guys take home postseason hardware for once.

One other Rockie could have been considered for a Gold Glove, as Miguel Olivo put up a nice defensive season behind the plate, but was beaten out by the Cardinals' Yadier Molina, who won his third straight award.

The Reds' Bronson Arroyo was the NL's only other first-time winner.

Full results past the jump

Albert Pujols
Brandon Phillips 2B
Scott Rolen 3B
Yadier Molina C
Michael Bourn OF
Carlos Gonzalez OF
Shane Victorino OF
Bronson Arroyo P


Here's what it would have looked like if UZR picked the award.


Ike Davis
Chase Utley
Chase Headley
Miguel Olivo C
Jay Bruce
Michael Bourn
Marlon Byrd
Bronson Arroyo
Brendan Ryan