clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Silver Slugger Awards Announced: Tulowitzki, Gonzalez Bring Home More Postseason Hardware

Troy Tulowitzki has been announced today as the Silver Slugger winner at SS in the NL. This is the first time that Tulowitzki has won the Silver Slugger, and it goes right along with his first career Gold Glove award.

This season, Tulowitzki batted .315/.381/.568, good for a .949 OPS, .408 wOBA, and a 150 wRC+, while belting 27 homers and driving in 95 baserunners.

It should be also noted that Tulowitzki missed over a month of time due to a broken wrist suffered in the middle of the season. With a full season, there's no doubt that Tulowitzki would've sent over 30 long balls.

This is a season for more Rockies accolades, as Carlos Gonzalez not only won himself the NL Batting Title, batting .336 on the season, but also brought home his first Gold Glove award as well yesterday. He'll be one of the 3 OF winning a Silver Slugger today, along with Ryan Braun and Matt Holliday.

Gonzalez batted .336/.376/.598, .974 OPS, .416 wOBA, 155 wRC+, hitting 34 homers and 117 RBI. Gonzalez built on his September momentum from 2009 and picked it right back up in 2010 in a true breakout season.

Interestingly enough, Ryan Braun was one of the major award winners in 2007, when Matt Holliday was arguably robbed of the MVP award. Carlos Gonzalez was acquired from Oakland in the Matt Hollday trade. Weeeeeird.

Full Results past the jump


Catcher AL Joe Mauer
NL Brian McCann
1B AL Miguel Cabrera
NL Albert Pujols
2B AL Robinson Cano
NL Dan Uggla
SS AL Alexei Ramirez
NL Troy Tulowitzki
3B AL Adrian Beltre
NL Ryan Zimmerman
OF AL Jose Bautista
Carl Crawford
Josh Hamilton
NL Matt Holliday
Ryan Braun
Carlos Gonzalez