clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 AL Gold Glove Award Winners Announced: Somehow, Derek Jeter Wins Another

The AL Gold Glove awards have been announced today. Some of the awards are surprises, others aren't.

For example, Ichiro Suzuki, Carl Crawford, and Franklin Gutierrez all won an award for their OF play. I can't argue much with this, as the 3 of them are probably the best defensive OF in the AL. Brett Gardner of the Yankees was a good choice as well, but again, it's hard to argue with the 3 who did win. This is Ichiro's 10th award, tying an AL record. Only Roberto Clemente and Willy Mays have won more

Derek Jeter is the big surprise - sort of. 2009 was a surprisingly strong season for Jeter in the field, but 2010 was maybe a "makeup" for the previous season's better fielding. This is Jeter's 5th Gold Glove, 4 more than he should have, if Rob Neyer has anything to say about it. It makes you wonder what managers are looking at, and it makes me quiver in fear for Troy Tulowitzki's chances tomorrow.

Full results past the jump

Mark Teixeira 1B
Robinson Cano 2B
Evan Longoria 3B
Joe Mauer C
Ichiro Suzuki OF
Carl Crawford OF
Franklin Gutierrez OF
Mark Buehrle P
Derek Jeter SS


Just for kicks, here's what it would have looked like if UZR picked the award.


Daric Barton 1B
Orlando Hudson 2B
Kevin Kouzmanoff 3B
A.J. Pierzynski C
Brett Gardner OF
Carl Crawford OF
Ichiro OF
Mark Buehrle P
Alexei Ramirez SS