clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Carlos Gonzalez wins 2012 Gold Glove

Rockies outfielder beat Ryan Braun and Martin Prado

Justin Edmonds

Carlos Gonzalez has won his second Gold Glove in three seasons, this time by earning the accolade as the best left fielder in the National League.

"To win another Gold Glove for me it's a great satisfaction," Gonzalez said on his Twitter account. "I feel honored and blessed with this award."

Gonzalez beat Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers and Martin Prado of the Atlanta Braves. He started as a left fielder in 131 games, the only position he played in this season. This allowed him to be considered for the award this year, after being snubbed in 2011, after splitting time in all three outfield positions: 60 starts at left, 34 at right and 28 at center, while collecting superior fielding statistics than the ones he has after 2012.

Gonzalez had a .982 fielding percentage and 4 errors last season, compared to 1.000 and 2 errors in 2011. However, while many fans considered this a step back in his defensive performance; it could also be the result of preventing health concerns which prevented him to play for a huge chunk of the year.

He becomes the fourth Rockie to be awarded multiple times with the Gold Glove, joining Larry Walker, who won it five times between 1997 and 2001, Todd Helton, who earned it three times between 2001 and 2004, and Troy Tulowitzki, who was honored twice in 2010 and 2011.

Gonzalez was the only Rockie considered for the honor. Tulowitzki didn't make the cut after playing in only 47 games, after spending most of the year in the disabled list after injuring his left groin and undergoing arthroscopic surgery.