clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Game 71 Preview: Jorge De La Rosa vs. Josh Johnson

The Rockies begin a dangerous east coast road trip tonight in Toronto with Jorge De La Rosa on the hill.

Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODA

After going seven innings deep against both Houston and Los Angels, Jorge De La Rosa (7-4, 3.49 ERA) has gotten knocked out of the game a bit earlier in his last couple of starts, going 5.0 innings against the Padres while giving up four runs and 5.1 innings against the Nationals while surrendering three runs.

He certainly hasn't been bad, but the Rockies would love for him to be able to go deep into the game tonight against a Toronto lineup that can score runs in bunches. It won't be easy as he's catching the Blue Jay bats at their hottest point in the season so far. Toronto has won a season high five games in row (and eight out of ten) and has scored six or more runs in five of their last six games. Stretch it back almost a month, and the Blue Jays have scored three or more runs in 24 of their last 25 games.

De La Rosa's counterpart will be Josh Johnson (0-2, 5.40 ERA), but don't let that ERA fool you, he's likely pitching better than that. He's made just six starts this season due to injury and one start against the Tigers in which he gave up six runs in just 1.1 innings has dramatically pulled up his ERA.

The good news for Colorado is that they enter this game with five four hot hitters who all have an OPS of .990 or higher over the last 14 days.

Carlos Gonzalez: 1.347

Troy Tulowitzki: 1.281 ... aww man :-(

Nolan Arenado: 1.056

Tyler Colvin: 1.029

Dexter Fowler: .990



1. Dexter Fowler (S) CF

2. DJ LeMahieu (R) 2B

3. Carlos Gonzalez (L) DH

4. Michael Cuddyer (R) RF

5. Todd Helton (L) 1B

6. Wilin Rosario (R) C

7. Tyler Colvin (L) LF

8. Nolan Arenado (R) 3B

9. Jonathan Herrera (S) SS

Blue Jays

1. Melky Cabrera (S) DH

2. Jose Bautista (R) RF

3. Edwin Encarnacion (R) 3B

4. Adam Lind (L) 1B

5. Mark DeRosa (R) 2B

6. Rajai Davis (R) LF

7. Colby Rasmus (L) CF

8. J.P. Arencibia (R) C

9. Maicer Izturis (S) SS