clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rockies vs. Nationals preview: Corey Dickerson to make MLB debut

Corey Dickerson brings an impressive minor league track record with him to the Rockies lineup on Saturday in his big-league debut.


Colorado Rockies outfielder Corey Dickerson, who was called up prior to the team's loss to the Washington Nationals on Friday, will make his major league debut on Saturday. Dickerson will start in right field and bat sixth in the Rockies' lineup.

Dickerson wasn't used in the Rockies' 2-1 loss on Friday. The defeat marked the Rockies' fifth straight loss and put the team under .500 for the first time since opening day. Manny Corpas allowed a go-ahead home run to Ian Desmond in the bottom of the seventh inning after the Rockies had taken their first lead of the road trip in the third.

Colorado is in the midst of one of their trademark disastrous road trips, and they'll have to bounce back quickly starting today to salvage it. Dickerson might be able to help; he was hitting .386/.429/.646 for Triple-A Colorado Springs at the time of his promotion and has never had a wRC+ under 125 at any of his six minor-league stops, including the Arizona Fall League in 2012.

Leading the quest to stop the losing streak is Jhoulys Chacin, who was brilliant in his last outing. He nearly tossed a complete game in a 5-2 win over the Phillies last Sunday, going 8.2 innings and allowing a pair of runs on six hits. He struck out three batters and didn't walk any.

Of course, even if Chacin twirls a gem on Saturday, it won't guarantee a win. Tyler Chatwood gave up a run on four hits in six innings and came away with a no-decision thanks to Colorado's anemic offense. He'll oppose Dan Haren, who is one of the most homer-prone pitchers in the big leagues but has the ability to shut down an aggressive lineup due to his propensity for being a strike-thrower.

Haren allowed two homers -- including one to Tyler Colvin, who is not in the lineup -- in an 8-3 loss to the Rockies at Coors Field on June 11.



Dexter Fowler CF
DJ LeMahieu 2B
Carlos Gonzalez LF
Michael Cuddyer 1B
Wilin Rosario C
Corey Dickerson RF
Nolan Arenado 3B
Josh Rutledge SS
Jhoulys Chacin P


Denard Span CF
Anthony Rendon 2B
Ryan Zimmerman 3B
Adam LaRoche 1B
Jayson Werth RF
Ian Desmond SS
Roger Bernadina LF
Jhonatan Solano C
Dan Haren P