clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rockies infielders Nolan Arenado, DJ LeMahieu win Gold Gloves

This marks the fifth time the Rockies have had multiple Gold Glove winners in a single season.

Dustin Bradford

Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado and second baseman DJ LeMahieu on Tuesday were named National League Gold Glove recipients at their respective positions.

Arenado is now a two-time Gold Glove winner, taking home the award in each of his first two big league seasons. The 23-year-old defensive phenom is the fifth Rockies player to win a Gold Glove in consecutive seasons, joining Larry Walker, Todd Helton, Troy Tulowitzki and Carlos Gonzalez. Arenado was a guest on the awards show after his victory was announced. During the interview, he talked about growing up watching Adrian Beltre, but the best part came when Arenado was asked about being known as Sharknado:

"Ummmm, that's NOT my nickname."

LeMahieu, 26, is a first-time Gold Glove recipient. He was statistically the second-best second baseman in all of baseball behind the Red Sox's Dustin Pedroia, who won the award in the American League. LeMahieu had no trouble passing the eye test, either, routinely making spectacular plays behind a Rockies pitching staff that gave up a lot of contact. In addition to his defensive contributions, LeMahieu was one of few Rockies players to stay healthy from start to finish in 2014. He should win an even more prestigious award for that accomplishment, if you ask me.

The Rockies' other nominee, first baseman Justin Morneau, finished as a runner up behind the Dodgers' Adrian Gonzalez, who won his fourth-career Gold Glove.

Either Arenado or LeMahieu might not be done collecting hardware. The Platinum Glove, which is awarded to the best overall defender in each league, is still up for grabs. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, but until then, fans can vote for their choice (and it better be Arenado or LeMahieu!) here.

Full list of 2014 Gold Glove winners:

National League


Zack Greinke, Dodgers

Runners up: Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers; Adam Wainwright, Cardinals


Yadier Molina, Cardinals

Runners up: Russell Martin, PiratesJonathan Lucroy, Brewers

First Base

Adrian Gonzalez, Dodgers

Runners up: Adam LaRoche, Nationals; Justin Morneau, Rockies

Second Base

DJ LeMahieu, Rockies

Runners up: Brandon Phillips, RedsChase Utley, Phillies


Andrelton Simmons, Braves

Runners up: Adeiny Hechavarria, Marlins; Zack Cosart, Reds

Third Base

Nolan Arenado, Rockies

Runners up: Pablo Sandoval, Giants; Juan Uribe, Dodgers

Left Field

Christian Yelich, Marlins

Runners up: Starling Marte, Pirates; Justin Upton, Braves

Center Field

Juan Lagares, Mets

Runners up: Billy Hamilton, Reds; Denard Span, Nationals

Right Field

Jason Heyward, Braves

Runners up: Gerardo Parra, Diamondbacks/Brewers; Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins

American League


Dallas Keuchel, Astros

Runners up: Mark Buehrle, Blue Jays; Felix Hernandez, Mariners


Salvador Perez, Royals

Runners up: Alex Avila, TigersYan Gomes, Indians

First Base

Eric Hosmer, Royals

Runners up: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers; Albert Pujols, Angels

Second Base

Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox

Runners up: Robinson Cano, Mariners; Ian Kinsler, Tigers


J.J. Hardy, Orioles

Runners up: Alcides Escobar, Royals; Alexei Ramirez, White Sox

Third Base

Kyle Seager, Mariners

Runners up: Adrian Beltre, RangersJosh Donaldson, Athletics

Left Field

Alex Gordon, Royals

Runners up: Yoenis Cespedes, A's/Red Sox; Michael Brantley, Indians

Center Field

Adam Jones, Orioles

Runners up: Adam Eaton, White Sox; Jackie Bradley Jr., Red Sox

Right Field

Nick Markakis, Orioles

Runners up: Kole Calhoun, Angels; Kevin Kiermaier, Rays