clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Game 2 Preview: Rockies look to get in the win column

Brett Anderson makes his debut for the Rockies tonight

Christian Petersen

Tonight we have a battle between pitchers in their mid twenties who have been traded from their original California club.

For Colorado fans, it's the first real chance to enjoy the new toy they got this off season for the rotation. Brett Anderson will make his purple debut tonight and as long as he stays healthy, big things are expected out of him. In fact, Anderson can gain some trust serious trust with teammates in just one start if he picks the team up following a loss. (Everyday players love a guy who they can count on to go on the mound and stop a losing streak - Even if it's just one game)

The fish will send Nathan Eovaldi to the hill tonight and he will try to build off his quietly successful 2013 campaign. Since coming over from Los Angeles as part of the Hanley Ramirez deal in July of 2012, Eovaldi has posted a 3.77 ERA, and at just 24-years-old, looks like he can be a big part of a Miami team that should become significantly more dangerous over the next couple of seasons.

The Rockies don't have an easy task in this one, but I like their chances a whole lot more than last night.

Meanwhile, the majority of the starting lineup for the Rockies is exactly the same as last night. The two through eight spots did not chance in order or personnel. However, Drew Stubbs will lead off instead of Charlie Blackmon. Ideally you would have liked to have started Stubbs against a lefty, but all four starters the Rockies are scheduled to face in this series are right handed.



1. Drew Stubbs (R) CF

2. Michael Cuddyer (R) RF

3. Carlos Gonzalez (L) LF

4. Troy Tulowitzki (R) SS

5. Justin Morneau (L) 1B

6. Wilin Rosario (R) C

7. Nolan Arenado (R) 3B

8. DJ LeMahieu (R) 2B

9. Brett Anderson (L) P


1. Christian Yelich (L) LF

2. Jeff Baker (R) 2B

3. Giancarlo Stanton (R) RF

4. Casey McGehee (R) 3B

5. Garrett Jones (L) 1B

6. Jarrod Saltalamacchia (S) C

7. Marcell Ozuna (R) CF

8. Adeiny Hechavarria (R) SS

9. Nathan Eovaldi (R) P