clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado Rockies' Nolan Arenado wins Wilson Defensive Player of the Year at third base

The defensive awards keep coming in for the Colorado Rockies' third baseman, Nolan Arenado.

Nolan Arenado wins another defensive award!
Nolan Arenado wins another defensive award!
Justin Edmonds/Getty Images

Baseball glove and sporting goods company Wilson announced on Wednesday that Nolan Arenado has won their Defensive Player of the Year at third base for 2015. The award, given to one player at each position across the league, crowns the best defenders in Major League Baseball based on sabermetric measures.

This is Arenado's first Defensive Player of the Year award from Wilson; Juan Uribe was the winner at third base in 2014, and the award was given in a different format in 2013.

This year's award also means that Arenado has swept the defensive awards handed out by major organizations and publications; on Tuesday, the Rockies' third baseman won the Rawlings National League Gold Glove Award, and earlier this offseason he also earned the Fielding Bible Award for his stellar defensive work.

The Colorado Rockies confirmed the news on their Twitter account on Wednesday:

In 507 fielding chances in 2015, Arenado committed just 17 errors, nailing down a .966 fielding percentage. He was worth 18 defensive runs saved (DRS) and finished with a 4.6 Ultimate Zone Rating (UZR) over the average third baseman, according to FanGraphs.

Arenado was also a human highlight reel this year, putting together some incredible defensive plays that we'll surely see for years to come.

Congratulations to Arenado on his third major defensive award of the offseason!

Here's more information on the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year and the history of the award.