clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado Rockies earn the win to split series with Philadelphia Phillies

Offense ignites, bullpen stays sharp to salvage Jorge De La Rosa's big day.

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

A strong offensive showing from Colorado's bench bats earns the win, and the Rockies split the series with the Phillies 2-2.

Jorge De La Rosa made Rockies history today, passing Ubaldo Jimenez as the franchise’s all time strikeout leader. De La Rosa fanned Freddy Galvis with an 84 mph splitter to notch number 774. Carlos Gonzalez hit a milestone of his own upon scoring in the third.

Philadelphia was first to the board after an error by first baseman Ben Paulsen put Phillies on the corners with one out. Darin Ruf sent a groundball past Daniel Descalso to score Galvis. De La Rosa got past Ryan Howard and Maikel Franco to limit the Phillies to one run.

The Rockies came back to take a 3-1 lead in the top of the third with RBI singles from Troy Tulowitzki and Brandon Barnes on two separate bases loaded opportunities. Walt Weiss challenged a play at the plate in which Tulowitzki was called out, but after a short review the call on the field would stand.

The Phillies tacked on two in the top of the fifth to tie things up on Darin Ruf’s second RBI of the day. A one out homerun off the bat of Ryan Howard would put an end to Jorge De La Rosa’s night and Philidelphia would not score again.

Following a Ben Paulsen single, Michael McKenry belted a two run shot into the left field bleachers to put the Rockies back on top in the bottom of the fifth. 
The Rockies secured the lead in the seventh, scoring two on singles from Daniel Descalso and a pinch hitting Nolan Arenado

Michael McKenry went 1-2 with three walks and two RBIs. Brandon Barnes had four hits in as many at bats in his first start of the season.

Colorado used five pitchers out of the bullpen, working a combined 4 2/3 innings of scoreless baseball.

Jorge De La Rosa gave up three runs on five hits. Christian Bergman is credited with the win.

Source: FanGraphs

# Commenter # Comments
1 Nephelimdream 111
2 ESterps08 63
3 Ryan Schoppe 63
4 BobbyJohn 48
6 Thnikkaman 17
7 Matt Gross (RhodeIslandRoxfan) 17
8 NoDo Joe 11
9 The Ghost of Marv Throneberry 11
10 Claytoniss 10
11 NY Rox  Fan 9
12 holly96 8
13 Ducks_RockiesFan 7
14 Rocky Mountain Way 6
15 SDcat09 5
16 butterfly2 5
17 Drew Creasman 4
18 Yokel 3
19 haj_saitou 3
20 AleRox 2
21 WSlopeDamMan 1
22 number-9 1
23 Sjamb 1