clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rockies attempt to salvage series against the Cardinals behind Jorge De La Rosa

The Rockies and Cardinals set to play the third of a four game set today at 5:15 MT

Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

Jorge De La Rosa gets the ball for the Rockies today. De La Rosa made his Rockies debut on May 3, 2008. After Troy Tulowitzki's trade last week, De La Rosa became the longest tenured member of the team. He, along with Carlos Gonzalez and Rafael Betancourt, are the only remaining players from the 2009 playoff team. De La Rosa's contract runs to the end of next season. Given Betancourt's age, the likelihood that CarGo gets traded before the end of next season, and De La Rosa's ability to block any trade, it's likely that he'll be the last link to that 92 win playoff team.

Today, De La Rosa is tasked with facing the team with the best record in baseball, the St. Louis Cardinals. The Cardinals took the first two of the four game set. De La Rosa enters with a 5.03 ERA, but his 4.01 Deserved Run Average (DRA) indicates that the's been much closer to league average than his ERA suggests.

Lance Lynn starts for the Cardinals. The 28 year old right hander enters with a 2.71 ERA and a 3.69 DRA. Lynn has made four career starts against the Rockies. His most recent came last year, when he threw eight innings of shutout ball. Lynn mostly relies on four and two-seam fastballs, and they sit around 91-93 mph. He complements those pitches with a cutter, a curveball, and a changeup.


<div class="pane sports_data_widget lineup clearfix">

<h3>Today's Lineups</h3>

<div class="lineup">

<table cellspacing="0" class="zebra">



<th align="left">COLORADO ROCKIES</th>

<th align="left">ST. LOUIS CARDINALS</th>




<tr><td class="td-last td-name">Charlie Blackmon - CF</td><td class="td-first td-name">Matt Carpenter - 3B</td></tr><tr><td class="td-last td-name">DJ LeMahieu - 2B</td><td class="td-first td-name">Randal Grichuk - CF</td></tr><tr><td class="td-last td-name">Carlos Gonzalez - RF</td><td class="td-first td-name">Kolten Wong - 2B</td></tr><tr><td class="td-last td-name">Nolan Arenado - 3B</td><td class="td-first td-name">Jhonny Peralta - SS</td></tr><tr><td class="td-last td-name">Ben Paulsen - 1B</td><td class="td-first td-name">Jason Heyward - RF</td></tr><tr><td class="td-last td-name">Mike McKenry - C</td><td class="td-first td-name">Yadier Molina - C</td></tr><tr><td class="td-last td-name">Drew Stubbs - LF</td><td class="td-first td-name">Brandon Moss - 1B</td></tr><tr><td class="td-last td-name">Daniel Descalso - SS</td><td class="td-first td-name">Stephen Piscotty - LF</td></tr><tr><td class="td-last td-name">Jorge De La Rosa - LHP</td><td class="td-first td-name">Lance Lynn - RHP</td></tr></tbody>




<!-- END WIDGET -->