clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rockies’ Nolan Arenado, DJ LeMahieu win Fielding Bible Awards

Nolan wins his third straight award and DJ his first

For the third straight year, Nolan Arenado has received the Fielding Bible Award for third base. This year, he was joined by teammate and first time recipient DJ LeMahieu. The awards are part of the Bill James Handbook and were announced earlier today on the Fielding Bible website.

The Fielding Bible Awards are not as famous as the Rawlings Gold Gloves. However, they should be viewed with higher respect as they only give out one award per position across both the AL and NL, instead of separate awards for each league. The awards are selected by a vote of 12 experts who have no allegiance to any one team.

Both Arenado and LeMahieu are also finalists for Gold Glove Awards this year, as well as Rockies outfielder Gerardo Parra. Those awards will be announced later in the offseason.

The complete list of Fielding Bible Award winners are:

First Base – Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
Second Base – DJ LeMahieu, Colorado Rockies
Third Base – Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies
Shortstop – Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels
Left Field – Brett Gardner, New York Yankees
Center Field - Byron Buxton, Minnesota Twins
Right Field – Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox
Catcher – Martin Maldonado, Los Angeles Angels
Pitcher – Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros
Multi-Position – Javier Baez, Chicago Cubs