clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Purple Row staff offers their predictions for the MLB Postseason

Who will win the World Series? How about MVP?

The MLB Postseason is upon us! Even though the Rockies didn’t make it this year, the Purple Row staff still offered their predictions as to how things would play out in the expanded playoffs that are immediately following a pandemic-shortened 60-game regular season:

Pennant Races

In our preseason predictions, seven staffers predicted that the Yankees would bring the AL Pennant to the Bronx for the first time since 2009. This time around, the Yankees didn’t receive a single vote. The majority of staffers (five) picked the Chicago White Sox. Three took the Tampa Bay Rays, two chose the Cleveland Indians, and the Houston Astros and Minnesota Twins garnered one vote apiece.

Regarding the NL Pennant, 75% of Purple Row staff members predicted that the Los Angeles Dodgers would appear in the Fall Classic for the third time in four years. Now that the field is set, the majority (50%) picked the Dodgers again. The San Diego Padres and Atlanta Braves split the other 50% evenly between them.

World Series Winner

Before the season started, half of the staff predicted that the Yankees would win the whole thing. Since they didn’t receive pennant votes this time, they were not considered. Five staff members chose the Dodgers to finally win the whole thing. The Braves and White Sox each received two votes, while the Padres, Rays, and Indians each received a single vote.

Award Winners

If Purple Row staff members had their way, the awards would be handed out as such:

AL Rookie of the Year: Kyle Lewis (SEA)

Also receiving votes: Luis Robert (CWS) and Willi Castro (DET)

NL Rookie of the Year: Jake Cronenworth (SD)

Also receiving votes: Alec Bohm (PHI), Devin Williams (MIL), and Sixto Sánchez (MIA)

AL Manager of the Year: Kevin Cash (TB)

Also receiving votes: Charlie Montoyo (TOR) and Rick Renteria (CWS)

NL Manager of the Year: Don Mattingly (MIA)

Also receiving votes: Jayce Tingler (SD)

AL Cy Young: Shane Bieber (CLE)*


NL Cy Young: Trevor Bauer (CIN)

Also receiving votes: Jacob deGrom (NYM)

AL MVP: Jose Abreu (CWS)

Also receiving votes: José Ramírez (CLE) and Tim Anderson (CWS)

NL MVP: Freddie Freeman (ATL)

Also receiving votes: Fernando Tatís, Jr. (SD), Juan Soto (WAS), and Mookie Betts (LAD)

In conclusion

The Rockies didn’t make the playoffs, but there are still plenty of things to keep an eye on over the next month. Share your own predictions in the comments!