clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Germán Márquez is a National League All-Star

The Venezuelan right-hander is the first Rockies starting pitcher named an All-Star since 2010

Germán Márquez is the eighth pitcher in Rockies history to be named an All-Star.

The Venezuelan right-hander has thrown 105 13 innings this year across 18 starts. His 3.59 ERA through Sunday is the best mark of his career, and the Rockies have won 12 of his 18 starts this year.

With starting rotation injuries to Jon Gray, Kyle Freeland and Austin Gomber, it has been Márquez serving as a much-needed anchor for the Rockies’ pitching staff. Colorado currently holds the highest reliever ERA in baseball, and Márquez is the only Rockie to surpass the 100-inning mark this year.

It’s been a full seven days for Márquez. He took a no-hitter into the ninth inning on Tuesday. He tossed six innings of two-run ball on Sunday (and threw his hardest pitch on record). His performance on Sunday was capped with a message from Bud Black:

Major League Baseball revealed the complete All-Star rosters on Sunday, and Márquez was the only Rockie named to the National League lineup.

In all, eight starting pitchers were awarded the NL honor:

  • Corbin Burnes (Brewers)
  • Yu Darvish (Padres)
  • Jacob deGrom (Mets)
  • Kevin Gausman (Giants) *Colorado native
  • Germán Márquez (Rockies)
  • Trevor Rogers (Marlins)
  • Zack Wheeler (Phillies)
  • Brandon Woodruff (Brewers)

Four relievers round out the NL pitching staff:

  • Josh Hader (Brewers)
  • Craig Kimbrel (Cubs)
  • Mark Melancon (Padres) *Colorado native
  • Alex Reyes (STL)

Márquez’s next start will (likely) be on Friday or Saturday, either three or four days before the All-Star Game itself. The squad will be managed by Dave Roberts of the Los Angeles Dodgers, the pennant-winning manager from a year ago.

(See more: Full MLB All-Star Game rosters)

The 2021 All-Star Game will take place at Coors Field on Tuesday, July 13. First pitch is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. MDT, and the game will be televised nationally on FOX.